Striking Competitions

This page contains information on annual Association striking competitions for method and call change striking and the Southern District friendly striking competition.

Method striking 


The method striking competitions are normally held together on the same day each year.


The Six Bell Striking Competition for the Taylor Trophy


The Eight Bell Striking Competition for the Pat Cannon Trophy



6 Bell striking competition rules
SC_6Bell Rules.docx
Microsoft Word Document 72.5 KB
8 Bell striking competition rules
SC_8Bell Rules.docx
Microsoft Word Document 93.4 KB

2019 Results


The Association 6 and 8 bell method striking competitions were held at St John the Devine, Merton on Saturday 27th Aprill with David Perkins and Ryan Noble judging.


The results were:


6 Bell

1st Kingston 25 faults
2nd Putney 26
3rd Benhilton 37
4th Croydon Minster 43
5th Battersea 44
6th Caterham St Johns and Merstham 58
7th Merton 80


8 bell

1st Kingston 35
2nd Putney 36
3rd Croydon Minster 38



Call Changes 


The call change striking competition for the Sid Saban Trophy is held in July each year.


Recent Winners


2018  Battersea

2017  Redhill

2016  Redhill

2015  Redhill

2014  Croydon Minster

2013  Croydon Minster

2012  Croydon Minster




1 Any Sunday service band or band that regularly rings together at practice night in the county may compete. The addition of one other ringer to the band of six to make up numbers shall not affect the tower's entitlement to compete for the trophy. No person may ring more than twice. No team may contain more than three people who have already rung in the competition. All bands shall contain one ringer who has not yet rung one quarter peal inside.


2 There will be no entry fee and no prizes, but the winning band will be awarded the Sid Saban Trophy. Certificates will be awarded to all bands who enter.


3 The names of the ringers in each band shall be given in writing to the General Master or their nominee prior to ringing.


4 A preliminary period of up to three minutes will be allowed to try the bells following which the ropes may be adjusted. The bells may be stood and restarted once.


5 When a band is ready for its performance, two whole pulls on the treble shall signal to the judge that they are about to start. Judging will commence immediately and finish when the bells are stood (failure to do so will not incur a penalty).


6 There will be eight minutes of ringing including a minimum of sixteen call changes producing a minimum of sixteen different rows which must end in rounds. The choice is left to the discretion of the conductor. A nominee of the General Master will act as timekeeper. He shall advise the conductor when seven of the required eight minutes have elapsed and will call stand after eight minutes.


7 When the judge has taken up his judging position, no-one may approach him except with the express permission of the General Master or their nominee. The judge's decision is final


Southern District Friendly Striking Competition

FSC 2019 Poster
FSC 2019 poster.pdf
Adobe Acrobat Document 116.9 KB
FSC 2019 Rules
FSC rules 2019.pdf
Adobe Acrobat Document 485.5 KB